LivesOn

As I was looking for different terms and services for social media regarding their policy on after the user has passed, I came across the app LivesOn. LivesOn is an application associated with Twitter, and their premise is to let the user keep tweeting, even after they have died. It’s a type of “social afterlife,” and the slogan on their site reads “When your heart stops beating, you’ll keep tweeting.”

Screen Shot 2016-04-24 at 8.01.08 PM.png

According to an article from The Guardian, LivesOn “uses Twitter bots powered by algorithms that analyse your online behaviour and learn how you speak, so it can keep on scouring the internet, favouriting tweets and posting the sort of links you like, creating a personal digital afterlife.” The concept for the app actually reminds me of an episode of the show, Black Mirror, where a woman communicates with her husband who passed away through an app similar to this. I guess LivesOn is a way for people to still “live on,” but it’s a little strange to me.

One thought on “LivesOn

  1. I agree with you. This is a very strange concept. I understand wanting the deceased to “live on” in some way and maybe this app is a way to help loved ones with the grieving process. Honestly, if I saw a deceased person tweet something or favor my tweet, I would definitely be freaked out.

    Like

Leave a Reply

