Ex Machina

I found myself thinking about the plot line of Ex Machina long after I watched it. Ava was so intriguing, and even though for most parts of the film the audience can physically see her as a robot, I didn’t think of her that way.  She obtained so many human characteristics that it almost became hard for me to distinguish between robot and human.

In the The  Atlantic article, Adrienne LaFrance speaks of some of the leeriness humans have over artificial intelligence, saying “A distrust of machines that come to life goes back at least as far as tales of golems, and this uneasiness has remained persistent in contemporary culture.” This was a theme that I saw throughout the film, especially when Caleb is questioning whether he thinks Ava is flirting with him, or if she’s just programmed to. I’ll admit, throughout the film I was going back and forth on whether Ava’s intentions were genuine or not, and I was mostly optimistic that they were, until the end.

One thought on “Ex Machina

  1. I felt the same way. Even though we were able to see her mechanics, I still had to remind myself she wasn’t human. I found myself rooting for her and Caleb. The ending was definitely unexpected.

    Like

Leave a Reply

