#IStandWithAhmed

Early in the school year, 14-year-old Ahmed Mohamed was arrested and suspended for bringing in a home made clock to school, which teachers suspected was a bomb.  Ahmed, who’s dream is to be an engineer, built this clock and brought it to school to impress his teachers with.  In a CNN article, he states, “”I built a clock to impress my teacher but when I showed it to her, she thought it was a threat to her,” Ahmed told reporters Wednesday. “It was really sad that she took the wrong impression of it.””

Ahmed Mohamed

This story took social media by storm, especially on Twitter.  Thousands of people showed their support for Ahmed, stating that the arrest of Ahmed was due to racial profiling and Islamophobia. The hashtag #IStandWithAhmed became a trending topic, and people even started to post pictures of themselves with clocks and watches, while tweeting the hashtag.

extra_large_3

The topic on Twitter became so big, even the President chimed in.

President_Obama_tweet_to_student_Ahmed_Mohamed-564x185

Much of the Twitter community acted as vigilantes about this topic, and brought so much attention to the story. Below is a tweet from Ahmed’s personal twitter, thanking everyone for the support. project-1979-body-Screen_Shot_2015-09-16_at_2.18_.48_PM_

3 thoughts on “#IStandWithAhmed

  1. I can’t believe this actually happened. I could’t believe it when I first heard about this and I still can’t believe it now. I wonder if this happened before the reign of social media, do you think this story would have reached a big audience as it did?

    Like

  2. I wrote about this story as well! It was definitely a moment where social media was used for good. A community of love was built around this boy instead of tearing him down as his school and the officers did. While the story is so shocking I think it goes to show how with every negative story about cyber bullying there are stories about the online community working together to give a boy credit and honor he should have had by his teachers and his own community.

    Like

  3. I was completely shocked when I first heard about this. I couldn’t believe it. I don’t understand how this could happen. We should be encouraging young minds, not arresting them. It was absolutely incredible to see social media come together in support of Ahmed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

